bobby1933 (bobby1933) wrote,

Triple Crown Winners

Triple Crown Winners

Just a little history here for those who don't remember the 1970s
Or the 30s and 40s.

Belair Stud produced two winners, Gallant Fox (1930) and Omaha (1935).
James Fitzsimmons trained both horses.

Calumet Farms produced two winners: Whirlaway (1941) and Citation (1948}
Ben A, Jones was their trainer, Eddie Arcaro was the Jockey.

37 years elapsed between the last winner (Affirmed, 1978) and American Pharoah.
In an 18 year period between 1930 and 1948 there were seven triple crown winners!
And then three more in the 1970s.

Is there a pattern emerging?  Will there be two more winners before 2020?  Or will American Pharoah stand alone, like Sir Barton in 1919.
  • Post a new comment


    default userpic

    Your IP address will be recorded 

    When you submit the form an invisible reCAPTCHA check will be performed.
    You must follow the Privacy Policy and Google Terms of use.